Monday, 6 July 2015

If You Liked Gone Girl

Hello everyone! Today I'm bringing out a new post in my 'If you like... then you'll like...' book series. The last one was on The Fault In Our Stars and people seemed to really enjoy it! I read Gone Girl this year and whilst I didn't like it I know that a lot of people did! I think there are some mystery books out there that are much better than Gone Girl but don't get nearly as much press. Which is why I wanted to write this post! These are all books that have some aspect of suspense/mystery and some big plot twists.



The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides - You might have already heard of this one because they made it into a movie. Its about some teenage boys who have massive crushes on some sisters who live across the street. One by one the sisters start to kill themselves. They have very strict parents and live quite oppressed lives. So this story is about the boys trying to work out why they are doing it and trying to save them.

Where'd You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple - This one is actually pretty upbeat for a mystery novel, it has a pretty quirky writing style. Its about a young girl who is looking for her mother Bernadette, who went missing. Except Bernadette was a bit of a character and no one in the town seemed to really like her. I really enjoyed this one and flew through it. A very loveable writing style and something a little bit more fun.

A Tale For The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki - I read this book in about a day because it was so good! A woman in Canada finds a diary washed up on the beach in a Hello Kitty lunch box. They believe it may have came from the Japanese Tsunami. It tells the story of a young girl. The book is told in alternate chapters from the Canadian woman and the Japanese girl. I found it impossible to put down and loved the plot. I can't wait to read more of Ruth Ozeki's books. 

The Blackhouse by Peter May - Peter May is hands down my favourite mystery/crime writer. I even got to meet him after the Edinburgh Book Festival last year which was amazing! This is a murder mystery set on Lewis, one of the Scottish islands. If you've ever been to one of the islands then you'll know that they have an amazing atmosphere that is picked up so well in these books. Its also the start of a trilogy so if you like this then there are more to go!

More Than This by Patrick Ness - This is about a boy who wakes up after dying in his old childhood home. He thinks that he is on his own, as the whole street seems empty and he hasn't met anyone since he woke up. But he's not alone. Who can he trust? This book was full of suspense but it also gets really deep and questions human existence. There's one character in this that's so scary that when I was reading this at night I became so paranoid that he was going to jump out my cupboard and attack me! Patrick Ness is one of my favourite authors and this is definitely his best book.


Have you read any of these books? What did you think of Gone Girl?


Twitter @honestlyrussell // Instagram  @honestlyrussell // Pinterest @honestlyrussell
Share:

1 comment

  1. I've read only a couple of these but they all look really good! Have you read Fractured by Dani Atkins? Great twist, made me cry!

    Rebecca Claire, libfemblog.com xx

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for leaving a comment, I try my best to reply to all comments but if you need a fast response please email or tweet me instead.

© Honestly Russell | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Developed by pipdig